Home > Uncategorized > Procrastination

Procrastination

I’ll start with a cliché because really now, who wouldn’t? If you look up procrastination in the dictionary you’ll see my picture (well you were expecting to see my picture here, but I really don’t want to show my face, not yet) and the many many things that I have begun but never finished. And the things I don’t start but want to. And never finish. Which is strange because I usually don’t like to leave things unfinished. (see how I used “finished” in three almost consecutive phrases; this would piss me off, because I don’t like to repeat words, but now I’ll just let it pass because I don’t feel like correcting it).

But what is procrastination (that is for those who are ……. <– insert adjective here)? According to the Merriam Webster dictionary to procrastinate means  to put off intentionally the doing of something that should be done. Like me with this article… and ideas and actions etc. It’s not that I’m lazy (ok, well just a little), it’s just that I don’t feel like doing things, I always find something else that is more interesting than what I doing at that moment. So maybe I am lazy, goddammit!

This article was supposed to be different. Last night Today, before I went to bed I shaped it up in my head, I was going to write about something else, but because I didn’t put my ideas down on a piece of paper I couldn’t remember them. See what this procrastination is doing out of me? I’m just kidding.

(while I was writing this article I went to do something in the living room, but I ended up with a semi-paralyzed index finger – YAY)

I bet am sure there are a thousand articles on the internet about procrastination. How you can overcome it (now why would you want that? it’s fun to postpone things) or how people whine about this “disease” (hey, I’m one of them; also disease is used here in a pejorative way, don’t take it seriously).

Perhaps that’s why I started a blog. For discipline or to discipline myself. To get off my arse and do something. If that something is productive, that’s even better.

P.S.: After I reread this article I noticed my excessive use of brackets. I’m sorry if they bother you, but this is how I like to write. Muhahaha!

Leave a comment